Contact

  • Email Address:

Biography

I was born in Little Rock, Arkansas. I grew up in Dallas and lived there through college. I graduated from the University of North Texas in 1976 with a degree in Business Management. After moving to Florence, Alabama in 1977, I went to what was then International Bible College (two years). Charlotte and I married during that time. I then went to school at Abilene Christian University and completed the Master of Divinity degree. Afterward, I completed the Doctor of Ministry degree at Harding Graduate School of Religion in Memphis, Tn.


Some Places Where We Have Been

College Church of Christ, Florence Alabama (1982-1990); Gladstone Church of Christ, Kansas City, Missouri (1990-1993) and Crestview Church of Christ, Waco, Texas (1993-present).


My Family

I am married to Charlotte. I have two daughters, Christine (23), and Jamie (18). Christine graduated from Harding University in May, 2005. She works as a sales represenative for the Wrigley Corporation and is based in Murfreesboro, Tn. She and Phillip Wood married on September 3 of last year. Jamie just completed her freshman year at Oklahoma Christian University.


My Food

Starbucks coffee and any kind of good French Roast coffee; Warm, moist cookies (oatmeal raisin, sugar, or chocolate chip); Blue Bell ice cream. (I also like any kind of vanilla ice cream with cinnamon stirred in; diet Dr. Pepper or Diet Coke; chips and salsa; Mexican food (Ninfa's, On the Border); guacamole. I also like Chipolte's (Mexican) and P.F. Changs (Chinese). Neither of these are in Waco.


What I like

Being with my whole family
Being with Charlotte
Being with my girls individually
Riding my bike (A Trek like Lance Armstrong's but the similarity ends there)
Exploring new, unfamiliar places (My curiosity allows me to enjoy places where we have never been)
Being on vacation (I will always have wonderful memories of the Smokey Mountains)
Walking by the creek near our house
Going to the ocean or the mountains
Sitting at a coffee place on my day off with a newspaper or a good book
Playing with the digital camera
Watching football (Dallas Cowboys or KC Chiefs or Alabama), baseball (in the playoffs), or basketball (Baylor women)
Eating at the Cheesecake Factory in Dallas
Laughing with friends
Grilling chicken, burgers, or most anything


A Different Time of Life

I like this time of life! We have now lived in Waco for almost 13 years. We've never lived anywhere this long. This, in many ways, has felt like home (I also felt like that when we lived in Alabama).

More than anything, it is important for me to stay fully alive. I see so many people who shut down long before they die. Then there are those people who wrote a lot of exciting chapters in their story for many years. Then, when they got to the last two or three chapters, the whole thing ended rather badly. Perhaps they quit or like so many, they spent the rest of their lives complaining. I don't want to be like that.